2013 Scottish Curling Awards Winners Announced

The Royal Caledonian Curling Club is delighted to announce the winners of the 2013 Scottish Curling Awards as voted for by its members. The Scottish Curling Awards are held annually to acknowledge and celebrate the success and achievements of Scottish curlers over the last year. Earlier in the season we asked our membership to submit nominations for each of the four categories, in which three nominees per category were shortlisted.  From the 25th April to 13th May members were asked to vote for the winner of each category.  The winners are:

Young Curler of the Year: Hannah Fleming
Hannah (skip) claimed her second consecutive Scottish Junior title this season, and went on to win Silver at the World Junior Curling Championships 2013 in Sochi, Russia.  Hannah also reached the final of The Co-operative Funeralcare Scottish Women’s Curling Championships.  Picture: Leslie Ingram-Brown.


Grassroots Coach of the Year: Andrew Barr
Andrew, a Royal Club Level 1 Coach, has put a massive amount of effort into making the Gogar Park Young Curlers coaching sessions run smoothly, organising events & friendly matches, trips away and he still manages to coach out on the ice too! Andrew dedicates Sunday mornings to the club and co-ordinates the coaches with juniors according to their skill award level. He has contributed his knowledge of the sport fantastically, and has helped young curlers to achieve skill awards at nearly all levels. Andrew is a great support to the junior club members and deserves to be recognised for his commitment and effort.



Ice Diamond Award: Norman Cathcart
Norman, a founding member of the Braehead Development Group, and a staunch supporter of Wheelchair Curling, has devoted much time to the development of curling at Braehead and elsewhere. Norman was involved in establishing Braehead Virtual Club, served as Area 4 rep on the Royal Club’s Areas Standing Committee from 2006-2009, and was the Area Rep on SWCA from 2008-2010. Norman is a quiet, unassuming and modest person, who ‘just gets on with things’ and makes things happen. Over the years he has organised many events, and has been a regular helper, both on and off the ice.

Team of the Year: Team Scotland: Eve Muirhead, Anna Sloan, Vicki Adams, Claire Hamilton, Lauren Gray and David Hay
Team Muirhead won the World Women’s Curling Championship 2013 in Riga, Latvia. Having lost just one game in eleven to Sweden in the round robin the teams met again in the final but this time the Scots triumphed with last stone in the last end to win 6-5 and become only the second Scottish female team to be crowned World Champions. (Photo: WCF/Richard Gray)

The winners will be presented with their awards during The Royal Caledonian Curling Club’s 175th Annual General Meeting which takes place on Saturday, 15th June 2013, 2pm, at Dewars Centre, Perth. We hope you will be able to join us on this special occasion and show your support for these outstanding achievements. All members attending will receive a commemorative pin badge and are invited to a celebratory drinks reception following the conclusion of the meeting. A small exhibition of curling artefacts and history will also be on display for members to enjoy.

Our new Scottish Champions will face our Olympians in a Playoff to decide who represents Scotland at the World Cham… https://t.co/knpaLUQok1


Our Sponsors & Partners