2015 Scottish Curling Awards Winners Announced

The Royal Caledonian Curling Club is delighted to announce the winners of the 2015 Scottish Curling Awards as voted for by its members. The Scottish Curling Awards are held annually to acknowledge and celebrate the successes and achievements of Scottish curlers over the last year. Earlier in the season we asked our membership to submit nominations for each of the four categories, in which three nominees per category (2 in the case of the Ice Diamond Award) were shortlisted. From the 29 April to 14 May members were asked to vote for the winner of each category.

The winners are:

Young Curler of the Year: Gina AitkenGina Aitken  - credit WCF Patrick Fulgencio 2015
Gina has enjoyed a successful season, skipping her team to a second consecutive Scottish Junior title, winning SILVER at the World Junior Curling Championships in Tallinn, Estonia, coming third in the Scottish Women’s Championship, winning the Braehead leg of the European Curling Tour EJCT, and coming second overall in the EJCT.

Grassroots Coach of the Year: Robbie Stewart
Robbie, an RCCC Level 1 qualified Coach who is working towards accrediting as a Level 2 Technical Coach, has been coaching at Braehead for over 10 years. Robbie helps with the Curling’s Cool programme, Try Curling sessions, Beginner and Improver courses, and One to One coaching sessions. However, his main contribution has been with the Saturday Sweep, a weekly drop-in curling session. Robbie, as the lead coach, has an excellent weekly coaching structure to ensure newcomers not only enjoy the sessions but get a chance to improve, and if they wish, progress to one of the Virtual Clubs. Robbie is described as being extremely reliable, enthusiastic, and a very competent curling coach who has a patieRobbie Stewartnt and calming style, never allowing anyone to think that what they are attempting is impossible. He has even encouraged a number of former pupils to become trainee coaches.

Ice Diamond Award: Kinross Curling Trust
The Kinross Curling Trust (KCT) has secured the future of curling for the 1000+ people who play the sport locally, and for the next generation. It did this by raising over £1M and successfully implementing an ambitious refurbishment project in a remarkably short space of time. Two years ago the ageing Green Hotel ice rink was facing closure due to the imminent implementation of EU laws on refrigerants and the need for considerable investment in the fabric of the building. Thanks to the drive, enthusiasm, skills and hard work of the Trustees, Kinross now has a bright, legally compliant, energy-efficient hall with excellent ice. The Trustees are successfully running the facility and have helped foster a great community spirit.

Team of the Year: Team Aitken: Gina Aitken (skip), Naomi Brown, Rowena Kerr, Rachel Hannen, Karina Aitken (alternate for the World Juniors) and David Aitken (coach)
Team Aitken won the Scottish Junior title in January for the second year running and went on to represent Scotland at the World Junior Curling Championships in Tallinn, Estonia, in which they won SILVER. Team Aitken came third in the Scottish Women’s Championship, and finished second overall in the EJCT, in which they won the Braehead leg of the event.

The winners will be presented with their awards during the proceedings of the Royal Caledonian Curling Club’s 177th Annual General Meeting, which is to be held at Murrayfield Curling on Saturday 13 June 2015, 2pm. We hope you will join us.

Photo credits:
Young Curler of the Year: WCF/Patrick Fulgencio 2015
Team of the Year: WCF/Richard Gray 2015


RT @evemuirhead: Last competition before the Olympics 🇬🇧 kicks off today! Game at 5.30pm...#HomeSoil 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿 Pop along to @intuBraehead and…


Our Sponsors & Partners