2017 Annual General Meeting Review and Photos

The Royal Caledonian Curling Club’s Annual General Meeting was held at Braehead Curling Rink, Glasgow on Saturday 17 June 2017.

Clive Thomson gave a good account of his year as President and Bruce Crawford (CEO) summarised the Annual Report. Alastair MacNish (Chairman) steered the members through the meeting and the voting processes. The accounts were approved, and it was agreed that the subscriptions would be increased by £1 in season 2018-19. Please note that the subscriptions for the 2017-18 remain the same at £19 per ordinary and honorary playing members, and £6 for a Junior (under 21). All of the proposed changes to the rules were approved and come into effect immediately.

Jim Cullen (Earlston, pictured left on the right) was appointed as President and Graham Lindsay (Forret, pictured with Jim) as Vice President.

David Hardie was re-elected as a director of the board for a second term, while Susan Kesley and Hugh Templeton were elected for the first time to stand as directors.

Lanarkshire Province was presented with the Sir Richard Waldie-Griffith Trophy. Although not in attendance, St Martin’s Curling Club were awarded a 150 year club medal. The following members were presented with 50 year medals to celebrate 50 years continuous membership: Jim Cannon (Merchiston), William Mitchell (Kelso, Greenlaw), John Morren (Huntly), William Neilson (Avondale Heather) and Albert Rae (Dunfermline). The following members who were not present also received 50 year medals: Sinclair Aitken (Pitkerro, Broughty Ferry), Helen Bell (Johnston & District), Leslie Ingram-Brown (Carmunnock & Rutherglen), David Bruce (Broomhall), John Clark (Leven), Hew Drummond (Logan), Jack Duncan (Kilsyth), Tom Jobson (Raith & Abbotshall), Harry Johnston (Falkirk/Falkirk Ice Rink), Alan Lauder (Broomhall), Jessma Lindsay (Kirriemuir & District Ladies), Inglis, McAulay (Falkirk), George McQueen (Cambo, St Andrews), Alan Muat (Balruddery), Joy Niven (Lynedoch Ladies), Ronnie Page (Raith & Abbotshall), Margaret Porteous (Threave Ladies) and Janette Sloan (Loch Connel)

The Scottish Curling Awards were presented to the winners. Those in attendance to collect their trophies included: Ken & Linda Hunter, who won the Ice Diamond Awards (pictured right), and Sophie Sinclair and Laura Barr (pictured below left) who won Team of the Year. Sophie Jackson (Young Curler, and Team of the Year), Sandy Wilson (Grassroots Coach of the Year), and Naomi Brown, Mili Smith and Cate Brewster (Team of the Year) were unable to attend.

A big thank you to the staff at Braehead Curling Rink, and the volunteers who helped with welcoming members and registration.

The 180th Annual General Meeting will take place on Saturday 16 June 2018 at Border Ice Rink, Kelso.

All photos: © RCCC/Tom Brydone

RT @evemuirhead: Last competition before the Olympics 🇬🇧 kicks off today! Game at 5.30pm...#HomeSoil 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿 Pop along to @intuBraehead and…


Our Sponsors & Partners