A Weekend of Firsts at the Asham U21 Slam

4th – 6th October brought about the 24th staging of the Kinross Junior Classic. The event marked the first ever Asham Under 21 Slam event, saw the first English team compete in a Slam event, was the first non-Championship Junior event to be played under time clocks and was the first major event for Kinross Curling.  It also proved to be a weekend of great competition.
Robert Tait (Lanarkshire),Bruce Mouat (Murrayfield) and Stuart Taylor (Braehead) topped their respective Sections to qualify for the Semi Finals of the Boys Competition.  The last spot in the boys semi finals was decided by a Draw Shot Challenge where Robin Brydone (Dewars) succeeded by only 2.9 centimetres.  The Boys Semi Finals were both very close affairs with Mouat defeating Brydone 7-6 and Taylor taking the extra end to defeat Tait.
Katie Murray (The Peak) and the local team skipped by Fiona Spain (Kinross) progressed to the girls Semi Finals from Section A, and Gina Aitken (Murrayfield) and Lesley Young (Forfar) progressed from Section B.  Aitken defeated Spain and Murray overcame Young in a low scoring game.
Asham U21 Slam Kinross 3In the 3rd/4th Play Offs Tait’s team of Graeme Allan, David Williamson and Jay Wilson defeated Brydone (James Carswell, Calum Greenwood and Thomas Halder) and Spain’s team of Lauren McIntyre, Kathryn Spain and Linzi Sim defeated Young (Alison Wood, Hailey Duff and Ellie Fraser)
The Boys Final saw the RCA teams of Bruce Mouat and Stuart Taylor go head to head.  A steal of 3 in the 6th end gave Mouat the initiative and with the score 7-3 after 7 ends Taylor’s team of Gregor Cannon, Ross Fraser and Alasdair Schreiber offered their hands and conceded. The final of the Girls event was a very close game between Gina [insert photo 3] Aitken and Katie Murray’s team of Heather Morton, Laura Ritchie and Jodie Milroy.  The game was all square going into the last end where Aitken managed to manufacture a steal of one to take the title.
Congratulations to winning teams of Bruce Mouat, Duncan Menzies, Derrick Sloan and Angus Dowell and Gina Aitken, Naomi Brown, Rowena Kerr and Rachel Hannen.
Our thanks goes to the Kinross Junior Classic Committee, Kinross Curling and sponsor Asham Curling Supplies.  Next stop for the Asham Under 21 Slam will be the Inverness Junior International from 8th-10th November.

Report – Brad Askew, Photos – Tom Brydone,


📰 Get the latest news regarding the 2018 Johnston Carmichael Scottish Curling Junior Championship starting today...https://t.co/TGxqV3vhHg


Our Sponsors & Partners