2015 Annual General Meeting Review and Photos

The Royal Caledonian Curling Club’s Annual General Meeting was held at Murrayfield Curling Rink, Edinburgh on Saturday 13 June 2015.

David Henderson gave a good account of his year as President and Bruce Crawford summarised the Annual Report. The accounts were approved, and it was agreed that the subscriptions would not be increased.

Billy Howat (pictured right) was appointed as President, and Clive Thomson (pictured left on the photo right) as Vice President. Greig Henderson and Robin Niven were appointed as directors.

Rev Bill Holland (pictured below right with David Henderson and Helen Holland) stepped down as Chaplain after 29 years faithful service. He was presented with a limited edition print of “The First Grand Match”, Pencuik, 15th January 1847 by Jemima Wedderburn. Rev Alan Donaldson was appointed as the new Chaplain.

Rev Bill Holland - for web

Renfrewshire (Twelfth) Province was presented with the Sir Richard Waldie-Griffith Trophy. Bute, Corstorphine, Strathspey (not present) and Thornton (not present) Curling Clubs were presented with 150 year club medals. The following members were presented with 50 year medals to celebrate 50 years continuous membership: Lorna Gray (Lanark Ladies), John Arbuckle (Abdie), Iain Baxter (Corstorphine), Ian Dykes (Greenlaw) and David Smith (Symington). The following members who were not present also received 50 year medals: Oswald Brewis (Swinton), Irene Campbell (Falkirk Ladies), Marjory McLachlan (Falkirk Ladies), Murray Melville (Glendoick), David L. Miller (Catterthun), James Muir (Oxenfoord), R.M. Munro (Caberfeidh), R. Jackson Robb (Forteviot) and G. Fergus Wilson (Campsie Glen).

The Scottish Curling Awards were presented to the winners as follows: Young Curler of the Year – Gina Aitken; Grassroots Coach of the Year – Robbie Stewart; Ice Diamond Award – Kinross Curling Trust; Team of the Year (pictured below) – Team Aitken. Gina Aitken, Naomi Brown, Rowena Kerr, Rachel Hannen, Karina Aitken (alternate for the World Juniors) and David Aitken (coach).

Team Aitken2 - for web

A big thank-you to the staff at Murrayfield Curling Rink, and the volunteers who helped with welcoming members and registration.

The 178th Annual General Meeting will take place on Saturday 18 June 2016. The venue is still to be confirmed.

All photos: Tom Brydone

With the action in Pyeonchang over, we're shining a spotlight on the contribution of our selected officials. Here's… https://t.co/tGCD8d24ib


Our Sponsors & Partners