Ayr Win the Morton Trophy

The Morton Finals day took place this year on the customary second Tuesday in March, the 10th March. On a clear and frosty morning 12 rinks of curlers, each being winners in one of the 4 sections, converged on Fife Ice arena in Kirkcaldy.  There were no travel delays and the teams took to the ice to play in the Semi-Finals after meeting the Umpire, Harry Mitchell at 10.00am.

In the Ayr Versus Braehead games Ayr won all 3 matches, 2 by a single shot.  In the Kinross versus Perth matches Ann Maree Davidson, for Perth, won her game against Kinross but Kinross won the other 2 games, both also by a single shot.

Kinross and Ayr therefore progressed to the Finals which were played after lunch. In the Finals both teams got on the board early on in all their games but quite soon teams Agnew and Thomson dominated in their matches and eventually won both their games in a very one sided fashion.  Irene Baillie and her team, for Kinross, put up a spirited fight and managed a spectacular 6 in the sixth end after a brave take out by skip Irene. All games were conceded after 6 ends with the score line 2 to 1 for Ayr. Once again Ayr has triumphed in the Morton and the celebrations began!  Ayr has won the last 3 consecutive Morton Finals, a feat they have accomplished more than once.

The Trophy, Pennant and Pin Badges were presented to the 3 Ayr teams by Mary Anne McWilliam, Lady President of the RCCC and the vote of thanks was proposed by Vice President Marion Fraser.

The Ice was good on the day. At the invitation of the Ice Rink Gail Munro travelled up from Stranraer to assist with pebbling. However Gail herself insists that a lot of the credit for the Ice should go to Ice Men Andrew and Dave who work long hours to transform Ice Hockey Ice to Ice suitable for curling, day after day.

Next year will mark 50 years since the first Morton Final was played in 1966, so we may see some special celebrations to mark this event.

Report and photo courtesy of Helen Gordon

RT @annasloan1: Set your alarms for 5am, we're back to a one-game day! It's 🇸🇪 turn to face 🇬🇧 With Sweden being the only unbeaten team…


Our Sponsors & Partners