Clean Sweep for Team Craik in the Asham Under 14 Slam

A record number of 20 teams competed at Perth in the third Asham Under 14 Slam event of the 2014-15 season. There were a number of new teams playing in this event, many of whom are eligible for another couple of seasons.

After the round-robin, Team Craik joined Team Davie, Thomson and Holl (all representing Stirling) for the knock-out stages. The semi-finals saw Team Craik overcome Team Thomson whilst Team Davie edged past Team Holl.

The 3 v 4 playoff saw Stirling teams Holl and Thomson battle it out on the ice. After a blanked first end, Team Holl skipped by Sandy Holl with Rory Hemming, Duncan Bowie and substitute Harry Gow (Perth) scored 1 in the 2nd, 3rd and 4th ends to secure third place.

In the final, Team Craik took on the all girls’ team of Lisa Davie, Annabel Skuse, Kathryn Tweedle & Sopie MacDougall. At 3-1 ahead in the third end and facing two shots on opposite wings with just one stone remaining, a hit ‘n’ stick was called but the shooter rolled out giving Team Davie a steal of one to tighten the gap. The fourth end saw Team Craik trying to keep it simple but Team Davie kept piling on the pressure by drawing in front of opposition backing. With James Craik’s first stone, he jammed his opposition stone onto his own backing and Lisa Davie played a perfect guard, leaving James with a draw to the four foot which came up just short, and so it was to be an extra end. To keep the spectators on their toes, the extra end was blanked meaning an extra extra end! James was successful in making his final draw to secure the third title of the season along with team members Angus Bryce, Matthew McKenzie and Campbell White. This means that Team Craik secured the Asham Under 14 Slam title with a 100% record having won all of the events this season.

A huge thanks must be given to event sponsors Asham for supporting the Junior Slam events in the Under 14, Under 17 and Under 21 age categories.

Photo: Barry McKenzie

RT @CurlingScores: Glynhill Ladies International (4): Isabella Wrana 6, Maggie Wilson 1 [FINAL] #curling


Our Sponsors & Partners