Curling This Weekend 14-16 March

The final of the Scottish Schools Curling Championship takes place at Murrayfield Curling from the Friday 14th to Sunday 16th March.  The Championship is competed for by teams from schools which are members of the RCCC with the four members of each team all attending the same school.

Three members of last year’s winning team from Kelso High School will be competing again this year. Neil Sutherland is taking over from last year’s skip, Cameron Bryce while Tamara Mallen also joins the DSCF00651-250x188team.

24 teams have made it through to this year’s finals, after the preceding qualifying rounds, and will be split over four league sections. Section winners and runners-up will qualify for the knock-out stages.
Play gets underway at 11:00am on Friday 14th March with the Final scheduled for 3:00pm on Sunday 16th March.

Pictured last years champions Kelso High School

For a full draw, team lists and live line scoring visit the Scottish Schools Curling Championship


DSCF00571-250x188The Rink Championship gets underway at Forfar Indoor Sports on Friday 14th March. Twenty four teams will be representing fifteen ice rinks from across Scotland. Six teams will be competing over four sections in a round robin format. The top two teams from each section will qualify for the knock out stages. The defending champions from Forfar, skipped by Adrian White will be hoping for continued success in this year’s competition. Play will commence at 9:30am on Friday 14th March with the finals taking place at 3:00pm on Sunday 16th March.

Pictured last years champions Adrian White, Jill Donald, Graeme Nicoll & Andy Ducat.

For a full draw, team lists and to follow the progress of the teams from your rink go to the Rink Championship in the competition section of the RCCC website.


2014FWWCC_Logo_220x151The 2014 Ford Wold Women’s Curling Championship gets underway at Harbour Station, Saint John, New Brunswick, Canada on Saturday 15 March.

Twelve of the top women’s teams in the world will take part with play continuing through to Sunday 23 March, when the medals will be decided.

The twelve teams who have qualified for this event are: hosts Canada, China, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Germany, Korea, Latvia, Russia, Scotland, Switzerland, Sweden and the USA.

As in all World Curling Federation (WCF) Championship events, curling’s Page Play-off system will be used, in which the top two ranked teams from the round-robin face each other, with the winner of that game going direct to the final, and the loser being given a second chance by playing a semi-final against the winner of the Play-off between the teams ranked third and fourth.  The winner of that sole semi-final goes onto the final to play for gold or silver, and the loser faces the Page 3/4 loser for bronze.  The gold and bronze medal finals take place on Sunday 23 March.

Scotland is represented in Saint John by a team skipped by Kerry Barr who recently won the The Co-operative Funeralcare Scottish Curling Women’s Championship.

A full preview of the event will follow shortly on the RCCC website.

More information about the event can be found on the event website and on the WCF website:

Please find linked below a selection of frequently asked questions regarding the adoption of the Scottish Curling t…


Our Sponsors & Partners