Muirhead Wins 2013 Players’ Championship

Eve Muirhead rounded off an outstanding season by winning The Players’ Championship in Toronto, Ontario on Sunday 21st April.

Muirhead and her team of Anna Sloan, Vicki Adams and Claire Hamilton secured the title by defeating Margaretha Sigfridsson of Sweden by 8-5 at the Mattamy Athletic Centre. This was the same Swedish team that Muirhead’s Scottish rink beat in final of the World Women’s Curling Championship last month. This result makes Eve’s team the first world champions to win the Players’ Championship and the first European team ever to win a Grand Slam event.

Eve commented, “We got stronger as the tournament has gone on and when you’re out here at the Players’ Championship, you’re playing the 15 best teams in the world and you can’t have slack games,” Muirhead said. “You know it’s going to be an uphill battle. I think we fought well and at the end of the day we came out champions.” (Source: Jonathan Brazeau, Sports Net)

The men’s championship was won by Glenn Howard of Canada making it his second Players’ Championship title, the first one being in 2008.

The Players’ Championship comprises of 30 teams of world’s highest ranked men and women curlers. The men’s Players’ Championship has been taking place every year since 1993 whereas the women’s tournament was included from 2006 onwards. The next Players’ Championship will be held from 15 to 20 April 2014 at Summerside, Toronto.

Picture courtesy of Anil Mungal / Sportsnet

RT @Hammymcm: Visit if you have the bug!!! #lovecurling #giveitago @teamgb @scottishcurling @BBCSport @BritishCurli…


Our Sponsors & Partners