Murrayfield 1 Win Henderson Bishop Trophy

On Monday 23rd February 80 lady curlers and their supporters, from all over Scotland, began descending upon Kelso for the national finals of the Henderson Bishop Trophy being held at Border Ice Rink. As well as 46 games keeping the ice busy until late on Thursday afternoon, several very successful social functions also took place in keeping with the true spirit of curling!  Competitors included several previous Scottish Champions and an Olympic Gold Medallist (Margaret Agnew, nee Morton, from Rhona Martin’s team of 2002).
The supporters included the Royal Caledonian Curling Club President, David Henderson, as well as the Ladies Section President Mary Anne McWilliam and the World Curling Federation President Kate Caithness, testimony to the prestige of the competition.  Socially the curlers were entertained on Monday evening with a reception hosted by Scottish Borders Council.  On Tuesday things moved up a notch with a superb carve-at-the-table meal in the Ice rink.  This was followed by a short Race Night run by Jim Cullen representing our main Sponsors Cullen Kilshaw with the ladies all entering into the fun as well as wearing magnificent hat creations as there was a competition for the ‘best hat’ worn to the races!
Cherrystone WinnersThe atmosphere in the clubrooms was fantastic. After 3 days of keen competition, the 1st and 2nd in each section advanced to the Semi finals of the high and low roads respectively. Those involved were spread country wide: Greenacres, Ayr, Murrayfield, Border, Dumfries, Inverness, Lanarkshire and Aberdeen with the draw made at the Dinner held in the Cross Keys Hotel on Wednesday night.  Home supporters were not disappointed when Border 2 kept us all hooked until the very last stone of the High Road Final when they eventually succumbed to last year’s runners up from Murrayfield.
Pictured top right are the winners of the Henderson Bishop Trophy from Murrayfield Jenny Barr, Susan Kelsey, Fran Stretton and Morna Aitken.
Pictured bottom are the silver medallists, Border 2 – Fiona Hodge, Helen Forbes, Anne McAuley and Maggie Wright.
The low road final for the Cherrystone Trophy was contested by Lanarkshire and Dumfries with the young rink from Dumfries winning, again with the very last stone having won the High road last year on their home soil (pictured above left). The organising committee would like to extend their gratitude to all sponsors and helpers for contributing to a very busy but successful week which was greatly appreciated by all involved.  They have now retired to a darkened room for a few days!

Silver Medalists

Report and photo courtesy of Nina Clancy


Fergus Oliver Wealth Management Scottish Curling Senior Championship - Women's Draw 1 Results: Cannon 10 - 3 Paul…


Our Sponsors & Partners