National Virtual Club Challenge 2015

The 2015 National Virtual Club Challenge, sponsored by Kays of Mauchline, took place on Saturday 28 March at intuBraehead.  Teams came from all over Scotland with 14 of the 17 virtual clubs represented in a wonderful competition between 122 enthusiastic curlers in 28 teams.  The teams played 3 four end games each, in two sections.  The results gave a ranking list for each section based on points, ends, shots up and total shots scored.  The last two sessions of the day saw the teams from each section on the same ranking playing each other.

The penultimate session saw teams ranked 8-14 face opponents from the other section with the two eighth placed teams both coming from Fife Ice Arena (Kirkaldy), creating a Fife derby.  In the end the Fife 2 team of Jim McGilvary, Len Read, Kartina Brown, Lynsey Brown and Caitlin Bell (pictured bottom left) came out on top with a convincing 8-0 win and were presented with gifts from Jan Howard (RCCC Ladies Branch Junior Vice President).

In the final session the top 7 teams faced each other in the climax of the day. The top teams, Braehead One (George Elliott, Sandra Goldie, George Barron and Alison Brunger pictured top right) faced Edinburgh Two (Kirsteen Higgins, Barbara Gillespie, Helen Maxwell and Alisdair Dawson).  Edinburgh won the coin toss for hammer in the first end but Braehead led from the start by stealing a 2 in the first end.  The second end saw a lot of stones in play and Edinburgh gave up another 2, so Breahead had a comfortable 4 point lead at the half way stage.  The third end saw Braehead increase their lead with a steal of three and the final end saw all 16 stones in play and Braehead stole a single to finish victorious by 8-0.

The day was a great success with many competing away from their home ice rink for the first time.  Jan Howard gave a vote of thanks, presented the trophy and prizes to winners and runners up.  Jan noted the high standard of play across all of the rinks and the friendship between teams and players.

Particular thanks must be acknowledged for the staff at intuBraehead Curling Rink, the chief and only umpire John McGowan, David Horne for coordinating things at the rink, the RCCC staff who worked behind the scenes to make the event happen and Kirsty Meikle, from the winning team last year, for assisting with the smooth running of the day.

IMG_3772 (1280x960)

RT @annasloan1: Set your alarms for 5am, we're back to a one-game day! It's 🇸🇪 turn to face 🇬🇧 With Sweden being the only unbeaten team…


Our Sponsors & Partners