Neilson skips team to Scottish Wheelchair Title

The Scottish Wheelchair Curling Championship was played at the Peak, Stirling from 20th – 22nd March 2013.  Nine teams contested the event which included all National Squad and SWCA Development Squad athletes in various teams.  The line up included a team from new club Stranraer Ice Rink Wheelchair Curling Club.  The ice conditions were good and keen.

Following the round robin, teams Lenton, Harvey, Neilson and Ewan progressed to the semi finals.  In the game between Neilson and Harvey, Aileen Neilson with Robert McPherson, Richard Craig and David Leeson played steadily to go three shots ahead after three ends against Alex Harvey with David Wightman, Arthur Bell and Steve Sutherland.  Team Harvey worked hard and had evened the score by the fifth end.  However team Neilson stretched ahead with a cushion of three shots which was enough to win the game 6-5.

In the other semi final game Team Lenton skipped by Jim Sellar with Rosemary Lenton, David Morgan and Mary Bell, swapped singles with Gregor Ewan and his team of Jim Gault, Jackie Cayton and local Stirling Wheelchair Curling Club player Lizzie Jackson who filled in for Mike McKenzie at very short notice.  The advantage swayed between the teams but Ewan had edged ahead by the seventh end and won the game after taking a further two shots in the last end.

The final between Team Neilson and Team Ewan was close with singles stolen or taken at the first five ends.  Neilson moved ahead when she stole two shots at the sixth end with an excellent guard which made it just too difficult for Ewan to execute a draw.  Neilson stole a further two shots in the seventh end to go 6-3 ahead and with excellent shot making in the eighth end Ewan ran out of stones and the Championship title went to Team Neilson.

Judy Mackenzie, Past Chair SWCA, presented the Rhona Martin Trophy and prizes.  Thanks were expressed to all the staff at the Peak, especially the ice team, umpires Gifford Rickard andAlan Stephen and to all the on ice helpers.

The recipient of the Sportsmanship Award, as voted by the players, was Hugh Nibloe of Stranraer Ice Rink Wheelchair Curling Club.

Judy Mackienzie presents the Sportmanship Trophy to Hugh Nibloe of Stranraer Wheelchair Curling Club


Please find linked below a selection of frequently asked questions regarding the adoption of the Scottish Curling t…


Our Sponsors & Partners