RCCC Funspiel Review

104 young curlers representing their junior clubs took to the ice at Braehead on Sunday 22nd March to take part in the Under 13 and Under 15 age categories of the RCCC Funspiel.

In the Under 13 Funspiel, teams all played 3 x 4 end games with the winner being determined by points, ends, shots up, total shots scored. After 3 games, Dumfries, Stranraer 1 and Forfar were all undefeated however Dumfries won the event, taking 10 of the 12 ends. This was a fantastic achievement for the Dumfries team of Hamish Gallacher, Isla Black, Andrew Murray and Mollie Milligan (pictured top right) who not only retained the trophy for Dumfries but won it for the third consecutive year.

In the Hotshots Challenge, each curler plays one draw and one take out with points awarded based on the finishing place of their stone. Each team nominates a team member to play an additional draw and a different team member to play an additional take-out with multiple points up for grabs. In the Under 13 Hotshots Challenge, Stranraer 1 were clear winners led by Adam Cairnie along with Robyn Munro, Kerr Lyon and Laura McNeil (pictured below).

U13 Hotshots Winners - Stranraer 1

The Under 15 Funspiel was also a very close affair with Hamilton 2, Perth and Lockerbie all finishing on 3 wins from 3 games. Perth finished with 9 ends and watched on closely as a measure was conducted on the last stone of the game played between Hamilton 2 and Ayr; the measure was in Hamilton 2’s favour meaning they also finished on 9 ends and just pipped Perth by being 13 shots up over Perth’s 11 shots up. The winning team from Hamilton; James Hair, Ross Muir, Dan Marsh and Ross Owen are (pictured below).

Under 15 Funspiel Winners - Hamilton 2

The Hotshots Challenge was secured by the Kinross rink of Ben Cormack, Gavin Hay, Beth Farmer and Craig Barr (pictured below) who retained the Shield for Kinross with a total of 64 points scored; a narrow victory ahead of second placed team Dumfries on 60 points.

Under 15 Hotshots Winners - Kinross

Many thanks must go to umpire Robin Shand, the Hotshots markers, intu Braehead for providing great ice, and to RCCC Ladies Junior Vice-President Jan Howard who provided support on the day and presented the prizes.


Please find linked below a selection of frequently asked questions regarding the adoption of the Scottish Curling t… https://t.co/wKMmBrxvOZ


Our Sponsors & Partners