Scotland Ready for World Senior Campaigns in Sweden

The Go Coco Scottish Senior Champions, skipped by Jackie Lockhart and Gordon Muirhead, travel to the Karlstad Curling Arena in Karlstad, Sweden this week for the fifteenth edition of the World Senior Curling Championships for men and women’s teams, with play getting underway on Friday 15th April 2016.

The Scottish women are Jackie Lockhart (pictured top), third Christine Cannon, second player Isobel Hannan and lead Margaret Richardson. This team, previously skipped by Christine Cannon and coached by Jackie Lockhart went on to become World Champions in 2014 when the event was held in Dumfries, Scotland.

Muirhead Seniors WebScotland’s men are Gordon Muirhead (pictured left), third player Norman Brown, second David Hay and lead Hugh Aitken. They featured at the 2015 World Senior Curling Championships where they reach the quarter finals.

On Friday, the women open against last year’s silver medallists Italy while the men are first into action against the Czech Republic.

To be eligible to take part in these Championships, players “must be not less than 50 years of age by the end of the 30th day of June in the year immediately preceding the year in which the Championship is taking place”.  This event has attracted record entry levels in both categories, with altogether 17 women’s and 27 men’s national teams competing.

Scotland’s representatives earned their place on the international stage after winning the Go Coco Scottish Curling Senior Championships at Lanarkshire Ice Rink Hamilton, in February. Picture below:

2016 Go Coco Scottish Senior Championships 2016 Go Coco Scottish Senior Championships

The women have been divided into two groups as follows with Scotland in Group B:

Group A: Australia, defending champions Canada, Czech Republic, England, Finland, Japan, Latvia, Lithuania, and hosts Sweden.
Group B: Austria, Germany, Italy, New Zealand, Russia, Scotland, Switzerland, and the United States.

With Scotland’s men in Group A, the complete three men’s Groups are:

Group A: Belgium, Czech Republic, Germany, Latvia, Russia, Scotland, Switzerland, defending champions USA, and Wales
Group B: Canada, Finland, France, Israel, Ireland, Japan, Netherlands, Slovakia, and hosts Sweden.
Group C: Australia, Denmark, England, Italy, Norway, New Zealand, Poland, Slovenia, and Turkey.

Round-robin play starts on Friday 15th April and continues until the morning of Friday 22nd April.  After that, in the women’s event, the Group winners will go on to the semi-finals while the teams that finish second in each group will play the third-placed team from the other Group to complete the semi-final line-up.

In the men’s event, the top two teams in each group and the best of the three third-placed teams (determined by Draw Shot Challenge performance) proceed to the quarter-finals, while the remaining two third-placed teams play-off for the last available quarter-final place. In both men’s and women’s competitions, semi-finals will be played on the morning of Saturday 23rd April with bronze and gold medal games taking place later that day.


Follow the World Senior Curling Championships:

WSCC LogoThis website will feature reports and reaction after every game involving Scotland’s teams.

Official Event Website
Facebook: WCF, RCCC
Twitter: @worldcurling, @rccccurling

Photos: Richard Gray

Please find linked below a selection of frequently asked questions regarding the adoption of the Scottish Curling t…


Our Sponsors & Partners