Scotland 2016-2020

Curling Comes Home Banner

Scotland will host four international curling championships from 2016 to 2020. The prestigious series of events will begin in 2016 with the European Championships at Braehead Arena and Curling Rink followed by the World Junior Curling Championships at Curl Aberdeen in 2018, the World Wheelchair Curling Championship at The Peak in Stirling in 2019 and climaxing with the World Men’s Curling Championship at the SSE Hydro in Glasgow in 2020.

This ambitious and unique multi-event package presents a long term commitment to the sport by the national governing body for curling in Scotland, The Royal Caledonian Curling Club, and its bidding partners EventScotland and UK Sport, and key Local Authorities of the City of Glasgow, Renfrewshire, Aberdeen and Stirling. The events will form part of EventScotland’s International Events Programme and UK Sport’s Gold Event Series.

Significant partner funding has been secured across all four championships and this collaborative approach aims to take the sport to the next level in Scotland by delivering a series of events to the highest possible standard and promoting wide spread public participation and engagement.

In 2009 the European Curling Championships in Aberdeen generated around £1 million for the Scottish economy and it is hoped that this impact will be exceeded at both the 2016 Europeans and 2020 World Men’s.

To kick off the series, the 2016 European Curling Championships will take place at the Braehead Arena and Curling Club between 19th and 26th November 2016.

Read the full press release.

Partners Web

Congratulations to your 2018 Ferguson Oliver Scottish Curling Senior Women's Champions - Team Kesley 🎉 Susan Kesle…


Our Sponsors & Partners