Scottish Wheelchair Curling Championship Review

Scottish Wheelchair Curling Championship, sponsored by Fergusson Coal, took place at The Peak, Stirling from 5th– 7th March.  8 Teams were split into two sections and after completion of the round robin stage Teams Harvey and Lenton progressed to the Semi Finals from Section A and Teams Hogg and Webster from Section B.  The remaining teams would play off for positions five – eight.

The semi-final line ups saw Team Lenton v Team Hogg and Team Harvey v Team Webster.

Team Lenton got off to a good start with a 3 in end 1 and Team Hogg repsonded with a 1 in the second end.  Team Lenton continued to apply pressure to lead 6-2 after 5 ends and sealed the win with a steal of 5 in the sixth end. Team Hogg conceded with the score 11-2

In the second of the semi-finals Team Harvey continued the form they had in the round robin and made it very difficult for team Webster.  Harvey made a good start to lead 3—1 up after 3 ends.  In the 4th end Harvey scored  4  and put the game out of reach of team Webster which ended 8-2 to Harvey.

DSC_0457 (1024x681)In the final Team Harvey (pictured above L-R Skip-Alex Harvey, 2-David Bain, 3-Eddie Flemming and Lead-David Telfer) maintained the level of play they had through out the Championship with the team all playing very well and Harvey played some remarkable shots to take a 3—1 lead after 3 ends.  Team Lenton (pictured right L-R Lead-Jim Sellar, 3-Bill Masterton, Skip – Rosemary Lenton and 2-David Wightman) played some great shots but Team Harvey kept up the pressure and ran out worthy winners, 8-1.

In the 3/4 play off between Hogg and Webster, Team Hogg started very well and were 4-1 up after 3 ends continued to a favourable 6-2 up after 5 ends. Webster scored a big 3 in the sixth to tighten the score to 6-5 in favour of Hogg.  The final end was very close with good shots from both teams. Fourth player for Team Hogg, Daniel Cowan, was facing two Team Webster counters when he came to play his final stone but Daniel played a perfect draw to the four foot to win the game 7-5.

DSC_0459 (681x1024)Team Hogg: Lead and Skip-Neil Hogg, 2-Leslie Barr, 3-Maria Duncan and 4-Daniel Cowan.
Team Webster: Lead Angela Higson,2-John Doyle, 3-Gordon Rainey and Skip-Paul Webster.

The event was very kindly sponsored by FERGUSSON COAL, represented by Mrs Cecilia Fergusson (pictured) and Kirsty Fergusson.

Fiona Hardie (President-RCCC Ladies Branch) presented the Jackie Lockhart Sportsmanship Trophy, as nominated by the players to Rosemary Lenton (pictured right – Cecilia Fergusson (Fergusson Coal), Rosemary Lenton and Fiona Hardie).

Report by Ian Archer and photos by Isobel Cowan

Our new Scottish Champions will face our Olympians in a Playoff to decide who represents Scotland at the World Cham…


Our Sponsors & Partners