Scottish Women’s Championship Qualifiers Decided

Qualifiers for The Co-operative Funeralcare Scottish Women’s Curling Championship were played out at Dumfries Ice Bowl this weekend. Two sections of four teams competed to determine the top two teams in each section who will play at the finals week in February.

In section A, Jennifer Martin and Lauren Baxter’s teams both qualified by winning two out of their two games played.

It was a similar picture in section B, with Kerry Barr and Gina Aitken also securing two wins out of two.

Sunday morning games were not required. Click for Full Line Scores

The four qualifying teams will join Eve Muirhead, Gail Munro, Hannah Fleming and Jackie Lockhart who gained automatic qualification by reaching last year’s page play offs.

The Co-operative Funeralcare Scottish Curling Championship is the highlight of Scotland’s competitive curling calendar with the best teams competing for the national title. The finals take place at Dewars Centre, Perth, (pictured) from 11-17 February 2013.

The Scottish Women’s Champions will represent Scotland at the World Women’s Curling Championship in Riga, Latvia from 16 – 24 Mar 2013.

Qualification for the Scottish Men’s Championship will take place in January 2013.

Photo: Richard Gray

With the action in Pyeonchang over, we're shining a spotlight on the contribution of our selected officials. Here's…


Our Sponsors & Partners