Team Brewster 2013 Scottish Men’s Champions

Tom Brewster’s Aberdeen team carved out their third successive national title when they beat Stirling’s Logan Gray by 8-4 in Sunday afternoon’s men’s final of the Co-operative Funeralcare Scottish Championships.

The Brewster team engineered two steals of two during the game, the first of these coming in the second end when Gray came up short with his final draw to give Brewster a 3-0 lead.

The game was blighted by a remarkable number of pick-ups, and the teams swapped twos in ends three and four, and then singles in the fifth and sixth before Logan’s final shot in the seventh over-curled, leaving two Brewster stones counting for the second steal of two, and an 8-3 lead.

After Murdoch cleared out three stones as well as his shooter with his last stone of the eighth, Gray drew into an empty house to score one, and immediately conceded the game at 4-8 to Brewster.

As well as handing new team member David Murdoch – who skipped throughout the week – his sixth national title, this win means that Brewster’s team are the only rink to win three successive titles in modern times.

They now go on to represent Scotland at the Ford World Men’s Curling Championships, which start in Victoria, Canada at the end of March, hoping to go one better than the two silver medals they have brought back from the last two world championships.

After the game, Brewster said, “we’ve played pretty solidly all week and I don’t think there’s any doubts we’re the best team here.  We’ve worked hard and it’s playing off and I’m sure we can play even better in the worlds. We’ve got unfinished business there and it would be nice to go one better”.

He added, “this is big in the whole scheme of things  – Sochi  and everything else.  We’ve not had a great season but we’re coming on to it now”.

Pictured: Team Brewster L-R Michael Goodfellow, Scott Andrews, Greg Drummond, Tom Brewster, David Murdoch.

Report: Mike Haggerty

Photo: Richard Gray

RT @CurlingScores: Glynhill Ladies International (4): Isabella Wrana 6, Maggie Wilson 1 [FINAL] #curling


Our Sponsors & Partners