Team Smith & Wilson win National Masters Championship

The National Masters Championships took place at Greenacres Curling Club between 6th and 9th March where eleven men’s teams and ten women’s teams took to the ice.

After the round robin stage it was down to four men’s and women’s teams for the semi- final stage.

In the men’s event Graham Lindsay and Bryce Smith made it to the final while in the women’s Margaret A. Robertson made it through after an extra end in the semi- final and Janette Wilson got through after seven ends.

The men’s final turned out to be a one sided affair, Bryce Smith with Ian Fleming, Gordon Gilchrist, Jim Raeburn (pictured top right) and fifth man Jim Padkin dominated the game from the first end, they scored six shots in the opening three ends and a steal of two in the fifth end  took their lead to eight. It just wasn’t to be for Graham Lindsay and his team. They did manage to put three shots on the board in the seventh but conceded with in final score line of 8/3 in Smith’s favour.

Women's WinnersThe women’s final was very different affair and it was close all the way. Margaret A. Robertson and her team of Venetia Scott, Gillian Smith and Liz Cullen led by two after four ends and increased the lead to three with a steal of one in the fifth.  Janette Wilson with Norma Brown, Christine Cheape and Liz Reid (pictured left) tied the game 5-5 however with a score of three in the sixth end.  Team Wilson stole one in the seventh, but Team Robertson got one in the eighth to tie the game and force an extra end.  Team Wilson dominated the extra end scoring three shots to win the championship 9/6.

Report by Christine Stewart, photos by Hugh Stewart

Ferguson Oliver Wealth Management Scottish Curling Senior Championship - Women's Draw 3 Results: Paul 8 - 5 Johnst…


Our Sponsors & Partners