Team World announced for 2014 Continental Cup

It will be a star-studded Team World entry that takes to the ice at the Orleans Arena in Las Vegas for the 2014 World Financial Group Continental Cup, it was announced on Tuesday.

The reigning men’s and women’s world curling champions will headline the World squad, which will be attempting to take back the title of Continental Cup champions from the host Team North Americans in curling’s version of the Ryder Cup, scheduled for Jan. 16-19, 2014.

Scotland’s Eve Muirhead, who won the Titlis Glacier Mountain World Women’s Championship last March in Riga, Latvia, and Sweden’s Niklas Edin, who captured the Ford World Men’s Championship last April in Victoria, Canada, are the big names on Team World. Both teams will represent their countries (Muirhead will wear Great Britain colours) at the 2014 Olympic Winter Games in Sochi, Russia.

Muirhead and Edin are not the only stars on Team World, which will be looking to even the score in the 10th edition of the WFG Continental Cup. Team North America has won five times, including in the 2013 event at Penticton, B.C. The sides have alternated victories since the inaugural Continental Cup, in 2002 at Regina.

The two other men’s teams are skipped by two-time world champion David Murdoch of Scotland and three-time world bronze-medallist and 2010 Olympic silver-medallist Thomas Ulsrud of Norway.

The Team World women’s contingent will be rounded out by four-time world silver-medallist Margaretha Sigfridsson from Sweden and rising 22-year-old Japanese star Satsuki Fujisawa, who just missed making the playoff tiebreaker at the 2013 World Women’s Championship in Latvia.

Former world champion David Hay of Scotland and three-time world champion Peja Lindholm of Sweden will return to as Team Captain and Coach respectively.

The Continental Cup features six teams from North America competing against six teams representing the rest of the world in various disciplines of curling during four days of competition — traditional team games, mixed doubles, singles, mixed skins and standard skins games. Each segment awards points for wins (or ties).

A total of 60 points are available, meaning the side that earns more than 30 points will be declared the champion.

For the six mixed Doubles and six singles matches, one point will be awarded for each victory, one-half point if tied). There will be 18 team games (nine men’s and nine women’s) played, each worth one point for a win and a half-point for a tie. All games are eight ends and there are no extra ends.  There will also be six skins games, with each game worth a total of five points to the winner.

Team World Lineups


Niklas Edin (Sweden)
Sebastian Kraupp
Fredrik Lindberg
Viktor Kjäll

David Murdoch (Scotland)
Tom Brewster
Scott Andrews
Michael Goodfellow

Thomas Ulsrud (Norway)
Torger Nergård
Christoffer Svae
Håvard Vad Petersson


Eve Muirhead (Scotland)
Anna Sloan
Vicki Adams
Claire Hamilton

Margaretha Sigfridsson (Sweden)
Maria Prytz
Christina Bertrup
Maria Wennerström

Satsuki Fujisawa (Japan)
Miyo Ichikawa
Emi Shimizu
Chiaki Matsumura

Captain: David Hay

Coach: Peja Lindholm

For event information, visit

📰 Get the latest news regarding the 2018 Johnston Carmichael Scottish Curling Junior Championship starting today...


Our Sponsors & Partners