Three Scottish teams in Action in Lethbridge, Canada

Scotland’s international teams take to the ice for the last time in the 2016/17 season this coming weekend when Gina Aitken and Bruce Mouat wear the blue of Scotland at the 2017 World Mixed Doubles Championship, and Jackie Lockhart and Ian Drysdale lead their Scottish Champion teams into action at the World Seniors Championships, with both of these events taking place in the brand new state-of-the-art Crossings Ice Complex in Lethbridge, Alberta, in Canada.

Mouat and Aitken just missed out on bronze medals last year in Karlstad, Sweden, and with Olympic qualification points up for grabs again this year, they will be looking for another strong performance to seal Great Britain’s place in the 2018 Olympic Winter Games line-up in PyeongChang, Korea.

With a total of 38 teams involved, from Asia, Australasia, Europe, North America and South America, the global popularity of Mixed Doubles continues.

The Scots have been selected into Group B of the five round-robin groupings – and face Bulgaria, Denmark, Ireland, Italy, Norway, Serbia, and Wales.  They open on Saturday against Norway and then play Bulgaria on Sunday.  Round-robin play continues until Thursday 27th April.

After tie-breakers if needed, the top-ranked sixteen teams will play in a head-to-head format.  Winners will continue to the quarter-finals and onwards to the medal games on Saturday 29th April.

The RCCC website will feature reports and reaction after every game involving Team Scotland.

Curling fans around the world will be able to follow selected live coverage of the 2017 World Championships via the World Curling Federation’s YouTube Channel.

Facebook: WCF, RCCC, World Mixed Doubles Curling Championship 2017
Twitter: @worldcurling @rccccurling
Hashtags: #curling #WMDCC2017 #Roadto2018

Photos of Bruce and Gina at the 2016 World Mixed Doubles Championship © WCF / Richard Gray 2016


The two Scottish senior teams will also be busy, with 15 women’s and 23 men’s national teams taking part.

The women have been divided into two groups as follows:

Group A: hosts Canada, England, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Lithuania, Russia, and Sweden.

Group B: Australia, the Czech Republic, Finland, defending champions Scotland, Switzerland, Slovakia, and the United States.

The three men’s groups are:

Group A: Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Germany, Japan, Norway, Poland, and defending champions Sweden.

Group B: Australia, France, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Kazakhstan, Switzerland, and the United States.

Group C: hosts Canada, England, Finland, New Zealand, Russia, Scotland, and Wales.

To be eligible to take part in these Championships, players “must be not less than 50 years of age by the end of the 30th day of June in the year immediately preceding the year in which the Championship is taking place”.

The Scottish women – skip Jackie Lockhart, third Christine Cannon, second player Isobel Hannan, and lead Margaret Richardson, supported by fifth player Janet Lindsay – are defending champions and they open their programme against the Czech Republic on Saturday and Slovakia on Sunday.

By contrast, the Scottish men’s team – skip Ian Drysdale, third David McQueen, second player Ronald Wilson and lead Graham Lindsay, supported by alternate Andrew Hemming – are a new team at this level.

They open on Saturday against Finland before a Monday show-down with England.

The RCCC website will feature reports and reaction after every game involving Team Scotland.

Facebook: WCF, RCCC, World Senior Curling Championships 2017
Twitter: @worldcurling @rccccurling
Hashtags: #curling #WSCC2017

Second photo from the 2016 World Senior Women’s Championship semi-final © WCF / Celine Stucki 2016

RT @evemuirhead: Last competition before the Olympics 🇬🇧 kicks off today! Game at 5.30pm...#HomeSoil 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿 Pop along to @intuBraehead and…


Our Sponsors & Partners