Weekend Review: 25-27 November

The Thun leg of the European Junior Curling Tour was hotly contested over the weekend with Switzerland dominating both the boys and girls sections, but the Scottish teams were also in the mix.

Well done to Team Dodds (Jennifer Dodds, Rebecca Kesley, Vicky Wright and Mhairi Baird), who came second in the girls section.  They narrowly lost to Switzerland’s Camille Crottaz in the Final.  Well done also to Team Martin (Jennifer Martin, Tasha Aitken, Fiona Telfer and Mhairi Anderson) who finished fourth.

Team Dodds - Photo by Brad Askew

Well to done to Team Menzies (Duncan menzies, Stuart Taylor, Robert Fawns and Angus Dowell), who finished third in the boys section. They came through the round robin undefeated with 5 wins, but lost in the semi final by 1 shot in an extra end to Meico Oehninger the event winner, and runner-up in Inverness two weeks ago, but won the 3rd/4th playoff vs Markus Hoiberg of Norway.  Team Smith (Kyle Smith, Thomas Muirhead, Kyle Waddell and Kerr Drummond) finished in fifth.

Team Menzies - Photo by Brad Askew

At Greenacres Curling Rink over the weekend the U17’s Slam was held.  Twenty-four teams competed for the Baljaffray Trophy and valuable points.

In the High Road James Carswell (skip), George McConnell, Ben Bremner and Peter Dagen convincingly beat Ross Whyte (skip), Zack Stewart, Fraser Kingan and Chris Howat 11-2 to win the Baljaffray Trophy.  Team Carswell also won the Perth leg of the U17 Slam at the beginning of the season.

In the Low Road Katie Murray (skip), Sophie Jackson, Gayle Allan and Lucy Morton defeated Calum Lammie, Scott Wilson, Neil Topping and Euan Kyle 6-3.

The fourth leg takes place at Hamilton Ice Rink on 10 December.
The British Open Wheelchair Championship which was played at the Galleon from Friday 25th to Sunday 27th November was a truly British affair. Peter Knapper and his team from Wales, and Stewart Pimblett and his team from England, along with two National squad teams skipped by Aileen Neilson and Gregor Ewan were part of a field of 10 teams.

In the round robin, there was a mixture of close and one-sided games.  Both National squad teams suffered a defeat which made the last round robin games very interesting as to who would qualify for the semi finals.  Rosemary Lenton and her team of Jim Sellar, Robert McPherson and David Morgan finished the round robin undefeated to meet Paul Webster and his team of Alex Harvey, Gordon Rainey and Angela Higson. Gregor Ewan, with Jim Gault, Ian Donaldson and Gill Keith, topped his section to meet Aileen Neilson and her team of Tom Killin, Bill Masterton and Angie Malone, a National squad team clash.

Team Lenton against Team Webster was a very close game which came down to the last stone when Rosemary Lenton’s draw was just a touch too heavy, allowing Team Webster a place in the final.  In the other semi final, Team Ewan was impressive and in command all the way against Team Neilson and comfortably won the other final place.  In the 3rd/4th playoff game Team Neilson gained revenge over Team Lenton for the defeat in the round robin.

In the final Team Webster stole a single at the first end but Team Ewan kept up the impressive play and took the next four ends and a comfortable lead to secure the British Open title.  Gregor and Jim, sporting their trademark ‘Blues Brothers’ trilbies, were delighted to be taking the trophy back up the road to Elgin, having been part of last year’s winning team.
As always at wheelchair curling events the atmosphere was friendly and all games were played in the true spirit of the sport.

SWCA Chair Judy Mackenzie presented the Kate Caithness Trophy and prizes and thanked all the on ice helpers, the ice and catering staff of the Galleon and umpires Robin Shand and Colin Melrose for all their help.  On behalf of the winning team, Gill Keith thanked all those involved in running the event.
Thanks to Margaret Cathcart for providing the report

Pictured below are the winners L-R: Gill Keith, Ian Donaldson, Jim Gault and Gregor Ewan (skip)

Photo courtesy of Robin Turner









Over the weekend the Edinburgh International Curling Championships took place at Murrayfield Curling Rink where twenty-four teams contested in the competition.  Congratulations to Tom Brewster (skip), Greg Drummond, Scott Andrews and Michael Goodfellow on winning the competition.  They narrowly beat Sandy Reid (skip), Moray Combe, Neil Macarthur, and David Soutar 5-4 the final.

Please find linked below a selection of frequently asked questions regarding the adoption of the Scottish Curling t… https://t.co/wKMmBrxvOZ


Our Sponsors & Partners