Who won? Scottish Curling Awards 2012

Scotland’s curlers, teams, coaches, ice rinks, clubs, curling groups, volunteers and supporters all came together on the afternoon of Saturday 26th May at the Glynhill Hotel, Renfrew, to celebrate the best of curling in Scotland at the Scottish Curling Awards. The event which is hosted by the Royal Caledonian Curling Club is held annually to acknowledge the success and achievements of Scottish curlers over the last year.


Guests were welcomed at a drinks reception before the afternoon’s proceedings began with a welcome from RCCC President Pat Edington and Master of Ceremonies Alastair MacNish O.B.E. A presentation of teams who had medalled at international events in the 2011/12 season followed. These were Eve Muirhead’s European Champions (Gold), Hannah  Fleming’s World Junior Women’s Champions (Gold), Team Brewster’s World Men’s Curling Championship Silver Medallists, Barbara Watt’s World Senior Women’s Championship Silver Medallists, and Kyle Smith’s World Junior Men’s Championship Bronze Medallists who were led into the room by piper Sandy Robinson and met with generous applause. A special presentation was made to Hannah Fleming’s team who received their World Junior Championship banner from Hew Chalmers representing the World Curling Federation (pictured).

A three course buffet lunch was served and a raffle followed before the main award ceremony itself took place. This featured six award categories – Young Curler of the Year, Club/Group of the Year, Grassroots Coach of the Year, Ice Rink of the Year, Ice Diamond and Team of the Year. Nominees for each were shortlisted several weeks before the event and voted for by members of the RCCC.  Winners were announced on the day and were:

Young Curler of the Year – Winner: Hannah Fleming

Young curlers are the lifeblood of curling in Scotland and this award is for a young individual star under the age of 21 years who has excelled in their performances throughout the 2011-2012 curling season. Hannah has enjoyed a very successful season, skipping her team to victory at the World Junior Curling Championships in Östersund, Sweden, coming third in the Scottish Ladies Final, and winning the Scottish Women’s Tour, the Oslo Junior Women’s event, and the Ottawa Junior Superspiel. Hannah collected the award from Fiona Hardie on behalf of the Ladies’ Branch who sponsored this category.

Club/Group of the Year – Winner: Forfar Young Curlers

This award is to recognise any club or group that has significantly contributed to the development and promotion of the sport during the 2011-2012 curling season. Forfar Young Curlers is an active and vibrant club working with the community and local ice rink to provide coaching, fun and competitive curling for the Angus area and beyond. The club caters for children from the age of 8 up to 21, and has a healthy membership of nearly 70 curlers. The club helps to develop and promote curling from grassroots level, has athletes engaged in the Royal Club Academy and Talent Programmes, and has produced successful athletes at National, World and Olympic level. The award was presented by Bruce Crawford, CEO of the Royal Caledonian Curling Club and collected by Stuart Taylor and Leslie Young on behalf of Forfar Young Curlers

Grassroots Coach of the Year – Winner: Lorna Rennie

This award acknowledges a coach who has made a significant contribution to the sport of curling at local level throughout the 2011-2012 curling season.  Lorna, a Royal Club Level 2 qualified Technical Coach, has contributed a massive amount of time and effort with all coaching at Kinross this season. She has especially helped juniors at Kinross and has coached almost 100 volunteer hours for Kinross Curling School this season! Lorna has also helped to establish the Monday After School Club and has run sessions each week as the lead coach. In addition Lorna has been a coach with the Royal Club Talent Programme and has done lots of Skills Award Assessing at Kinross and other ice rinks across Scotland. Lorna is pictured with category sponsor Zander McIlwham of Curling Supplies.

Ice Rink of the Year – Winner: The Peak, Stirling

This award is to recognise an ice rink which has consistently provided quality service on and off the ice throughout the 2011-2012 curling season. Allan Grant, Head Ice Technician at The Peak collected the award on their behalf. Allan is pictured with category sponsor Bruce Crawford, CEO of the Royal Caledonian Curling Club.



Ice Diamond – Winner: Judy MacKenzie

This award is to recognise an individual who has significantly contributed to the development and promotion of the sport.  They are the unsung hero of curling who makes things happen behind the scenes.  Judy has been instrumental in the development of Wheelchair Curling in Scotland over the last decade and has been involved in every aspect from Club Development to Coaching and International Championships. She has served on the Scottish Wheelchair Curling Association since 2004, holding various positions culminating in her becoming the Chair in 2010. Judy has introduced many people to the sport through her work at the participation level with Braehead and Stirling Wheelchair Curling Club and also developed athletes through the performance ranks while continuing her coaching with the SWCA Development and Spokes Squads and Area Institute Athletes. As a supporter Judy has attended many World Wheelchair Championships and Paralympic Games and also attended the 2008 Championships as Assistant Coach for Team Scotland. Judy is pictured with sponsor Iain Baxter of Murrayfield Curling Limited who presented the award.

Team of the Year – Winner: Team Brewster

This award recognises the achievements of a team which has performed to a high level throughout the 2011-2012 curling season at home and/or abroad. Team Brewster successfully defended their Scottish Men’s title to win the right to represent Scotland at the World Men’s Curling Championship in Basel, Switzerland. The team played well throughout the competition and reach the final for the second year running. After an extra end in a highly-competitive game, Scotland narrowly missed out to Canada to claim a well deserved Silver medal. Team Brewster are: Tom Brewster, Greg Drummond, Scott Andrews, Michael Goodfellow, David Edwards (absent) and Ron Brewster (absent – coach). The award was presented by Bruce Crawford, CEO, of The Royal Caledonian Curling Club.

Following the award presentations Alastair MacNish concluded the afternoon with his closing remarks and thanks.

The Scottish Curling Awards is organised by The Royal Caledonian Curling Club. Thanks to our sponsors Curling Supplies, Murrayfield Curling Limited and Ladies’ Branch for their generous support, the Glynhill Hotel for their hospitality, Master of Ceremonies Alastair MacNish, piper Sandy Robinson, photographer Tom Brydone and all who were involved in the organisation and delivery of this year’s event. Thanks also to our raffle donators Rockwatcher, Asham, Soren Gran, Bruce Crawford, Joe Barry, International Beverages, Pat Edington and Robbie and Kathleen Scott. Finally thanks to everyone who attended for their support and many congratulations to our winners. Thank you!

All photos: Tom Brydone.

Reminder that you have until 12:00 to enter our Scottish Curling member exclusive prize draw to win this Scotland s… https://t.co/TqdZPtekJg


Our Sponsors & Partners