Curling This Weekend: From 25th September

The first of this season’s Goldline Scottish Curling Tour begins this Friday 25th September, with the Braehead Open.

Taking part in the competition are Performance Foundation teams Mouat (Bruce Mouat, Duncan Menzies, Bobby Lammie, Gregor Cannon, Angus Dowell) Aitken (Gina Aitken, Rowena Kerr, Laura Ritchie, Heather Morton) and Jackson (Sophie Jackson, Naomi Brown, Rachel Halliday, Rachael Hannen), as well as Academy team Bryce (Cameron Bryce, Zack Stewart, Fraser Kingan, Frazer Shaw).

Among the competitors is also 2015 Scottish Curling Championships winning skip, Ewan MacDonald, with his team new line-up of David Edwards, Ruairidh Greenwood and Euan Byers.

The competition has also attracted some interest from outside of the UK with teams from Sweden and the Czech Republic competing.

The competition will be played in a schenkel league system in which teams will play 3 games in the preliminary rounds with the third preliminary round game depending on league ranking position. The league ranking positions will be based on points, ends, shots scored, in that order.


Twenty teams will be competing in the competition split over two groups of ten teams. Teams ranked 1st and 2nd in Section A and B will progress direct to The Quarter finals, while teams ranked 3 to 6 in each of the two sections will progress to the High Road Knock-Out stage. The winning teams in the High Road Knock-Out stage will go on to the Quarter-Finals.

The eight teams that do not qualify for the High road, go into a schenkel Low Road, and play 3 further games, the Low Road winner will be the team which comes out top in the Low Road League.

For standings and results go to the Goldline Scottish Curling Tour – Braehead Open

For more information on the Braehead Open and other tour events go to Goldline Scottish Curling Tour

Photo: Richard Gray


1743526_953853541296429_4655786767983536453_n (2)

The Stockholm Ladies Curling Cup, a part of the Curling Champions Tour, will once again be held at Danderyd Curling Arena, Stockholm this weekend, from Friday 25th to Sunday 27th September.
Scottish teams Muirhead (Eve Muirhead, Anna Sloan, Vicki Adams, Sarah Reid) and Gray (Lauren Gray, Jennifer Dodds, Vicky Wright, Mhairi Baird) who competed in last year’s event will be returning again this year, joined by Team Fleming (Hannah Fleming, Lorna Vevers, Alice Spence, Abigail Brown).

The competition will feature a host of world class talent including 2014 Winter Olympic champions Team Jones from Canada, current World champions, Team Paetz from Switzerland, fellow Swiss team and current European champions, Team Feltscher and many many more.
Twenty teams will be taking part in the competition which will be played a round-robin format with four groups of five teams, with the top two teams from each section advancing to the Quarter-Finals.

For a full list of all competing teams and to follow the event go to Stockholm Ladies Curling Cup.

Photo: © Stockholm Ladies Curling Cup 2014 / Céline Stucki


Asham U17 WebThe first Asham Under 17 Slam of the Season, the Stevenson Trophy, takes place at Lockerbie Ice Rink from Saturday 26th to Sunday 27th September.

The Asham Under 17 Slam comprises five events with points being awarded at each event. This competition offers young curlers the chance of success in their own age group and an added incentive is the coveted top prize of secured places at the World Curling Federation Camp in Fussen, Germany.The top three results will be accumulated to determine the overall winner and a winning girls’ team.

For full team listings, draw and live line scoring go to the Asham Under 17 Slam – Lockerbie.


Our new Scottish Champions will face our Olympians in a Playoff to decide who represents Scotland at the World Cham…


Our Sponsors & Partners