Curling Volunteers Recognised

In the New Year’s Honours for January 2019, two Scottish Curling members have been recognised for their contributions and services to sport, they are Kate Caithness and Hew Chalmers.

Kate Caithness CBE, Dalhousie Curling Club, is an honorary president of the Ladies Branch of RCCC and since 2010 has been serving the global curling community as the president of the World Curling Federation.

Kate has been involved in curling since the 1980s, was a coach with junior curlers at Letham Grange and served as president of Bught Ladies CC, Northern Counties Ladies and Dalhousie Ladies CC.  She went on to be a council member of RCCC and Ladies Branch president 1997-98.

Starting in 2000, Kate led a disability project for the WCF and was instrumental in getting wheelchair curling into the Paralympic Games.  Her contribution to international disability sport was recognised with an OBE in 2013.

Kate Caithness was the first female President of an Olympic Winter Sports Federation and is one of only two female Presidents in all Olympic summer and winter sports.  In 2017 she was made Honorary Professor of the Beijing Sports University and in 2018 was re-elected to be president of the WCF for a third term 2018-2022.

Hew Chalmers MBE, of Stoneykirk Curling Club, has become a Member of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire for ‘Services to Olympic Sport’.  Hew has been a long-standing member of Stranraer curling community becoming president of the Stranraer Ice Rink club in 2011-12.

Hew has been a board member of the British Olympic Association since 2010 and the World Curling Federation since 2014.  He was formerly board member of British Curling.  Hew has been a Team Manager/Coach for curling at the Winter Olympic Games in Vancouver, Turin and Salt Lake City.


Image credit:



It's a hive of activity here at @DewarsCentre in Perth for our final @AshamCurling Under 14 Slam! A bumper field of…


Our Sponsors & Partners