Murdoch Elected Member of WCF Athlete Commission

The World Curling Federation (WCF) today announced five new members for its Athlete Commission including Great Britain’s 2014 Olympic Winter Games silver medallist and skip, David Murdoch (pictured, photo ©WCF Michael Burns).

Elected alongside Dave are Australian Women’s, Mixed and Mixed Doubles athlete; Kim Forge, USA’s two-time Paralympian Patrick McDonald; Pacific-Asia Curling Championships six-time silver medallist Kosuke Morozumi from Japan; and 2010 World Men’s Curling champion Nolan Thiessen have all been elected.

The new members join Cathrine Lindahl (Sweden), Kelly Scott (Canada) and skip Ann Swisshelm (USA) on the Commission. Lindahl, who recently was elected as a new member of the WCF Board, also serves as the liaison between the Athlete Commission and the Board.

WCF President, Kate Caithness, said: “It is my pleasure to welcome our five new members into the WCF Athlete Commission. I have no doubt these athletes will bring invaluable knowledge and experience to the Commission and work hard for the interests of our elite curlers across the globe.”

Ann Swisshelm, skip for the Athlete Commission, said: “The World Curling Federation has taken a significant step in building the athletes’ voice. Hosting an election that is driven by athletes and finalised by athletes truly confirms how valuable we are within the WCF family.

“Congratulations to the five newly-peer-elected members of the WCF Athletes Commission; David Murdoch, Kim Forge, Nolan Thiessen, Patrick McDonald and Kosuke Morozumi. Also, our sincerest gratitude to outgoing members, Bingyu Wang, Andreas Schwaller and Michael McCreadie.”

The eight members of the Athlete Commission – which is an independent and consultative body that acts as the voice for elite curlers to the WCF Executive Board, Competitions and Rules Commission and the International Olympic Committee’s Athletes’ Commission – share between them the following interest groups and cover the WCF’s three geographical zones:

* Male athletes who have played at the World Men’s Curling Championships or Olympic Winter Games (Morozumi, Murdoch and Thiessen).
* Female athletes who have played at the World Women’s Curling Championships or Olympic Winter Games (Lindahl, Scott and Swisshelm).
* Wheelchair athletes who have played at the World Wheelchair Curling Championships or Paralympic Winter Games (McDonald).
* Mixed Doubles athletes who have played at the World Mixed Doubles Curling Championships (Forge).

The Athlete Commission election was held over a two-week period and athletes who have competed in curling or wheelchair curling events at the Olympic or Paralympic Winter Games, the Men’s, Women’s, Mixed Doubles or Wheelchair Curling World Championships in the last eight years were eligible to vote.

Initially only four athletes were elected – Forge, McDonald, Murdoch and Thiessen – however, the WCF Board unanimously approved a fifth new member to give a better geographical balance, particularly with the next two Olympic Winter Games being held in the Pacific-Asia Zone. As a result of this decision Japan’s Morozumi was welcomed onto the Commission.

world-curling-federationFor the full list of 2016 nominees and their CVs, visit,

The Athlete Commission along with the WCF’s other Commissions – Governance, Competition and Rules, Finance, Facilities and Technical Assistance and Zonal – play an important role in the WCF’s implementation of policies and rules that ensure a level playing field in the sport.

It's a hive of activity here at @DewarsCentre in Perth for our final @AshamCurling Under 14 Slam! A bumper field of…


Our Sponsors & Partners